Welcome to Onsen Express on the New Laughing Squid Cloud Server
Home How to Onsen Ryokan Basics Café Contribute! Travel Desk

Gifu Prefecture, which is split almost evenly between mountainous terrain in the north and the wet, river-streaked district in the south, is traditionally called Hida and Mino (both words are from a traditional Japanese dialect and mean 'mountain' and 'water').

The northern half, Hida, is often regarded as "the heart of Japan" and is recognizable by the A-Frame roofed structures called Gassho-Zurkuri. According to legend, the roofs are designed to mimic the shape that hands take when they are praying. The main town in the region, Shirakawa-go, was designated a World Heritage Site in 1995.

Mie prefecture is most often associated with the area's female divers who dive for pearl and abalone. There remain more than 1,200 active female divers in the central city of Toba and you will recognize them by their traditional white clothes. The area's Ise Shrine is famous throughout Japan and honors the origin of all Japanese people, again, according to legend. The shrine has been standing for over 2,000 years and is considered the most sacred of Shinto shrines in Japan.

Nagoya, in Aichi prefecture, is Japan's fourth largest city. Nagoya is known as an industrial city. Its inhabitants have a reputation for being shy, but the city itself does have some charm and a long history worth getting to know if you find yourself visiting.

Onsen in Chubu

Aichi Prefecture

Shuku Kaifuu $$$

Gifu Prefecture

Yumoto Choza $$$

Katsuragi-no-sato $$$

Miyako $$$ 

Hirayu-no-mori $

Yarimi-kan $ 

Sugishima  $$$

$ = under Y8,000 per person
$$ = between Y8,000 and Y14,500
$$$ = above Y14,500
= mixed-bathing onsen
Copyright 2002-2003 Onsen Express - All Rights Reserved